The Nutcracker Christmas Benefit 2014:
Magical Kingdom

A Fun Filled Fundraising Event to support The Hong Kong Ballet

[Hong Kong – 7th December 2014] The Hong Kong Ballet Guild’s fundraising event, The Nutcracker Christmas Benefit 2014: Magical Kingdom, was held successfully at the Island Ballroom of Island Shangri-La Hotel on Sunday 7th December, 2014. The event provided children and their families a fun filled experience to enjoy classical ballet. Funds raised will support The Hong Kong Ballet’s education and outreach activities to open up the world of ballet to the community.

Over 360 guests gathered together at this festive celebration. Guests included: Co-Chairs of both, The Nutcracker Christmas Benefit 2014 and The Hong Kong Ballet Guild, Mrs Leigh Tung Chou, Mrs Anne Wang Liu and Mrs Sharie Ross Tse; Board of Governors of The Hong Kong Ballet Mrs Daisy Ho (Chairman); Mrs Mira Yeh (Vice-Chairman); Mrs Janice Chan-Choy; Mrs Christina Gaw Donohugh and Mrs Daphne King Yao; Mr Martin Lee; Mr & Mrs James and Jane Louey; Mr & Mrs Donnie and Cecilia Yen; Mr & Mrs Dennis and Betty Sun; Mr & Mrs Stanley and Jacqueline Sun; Mr & Mrs Derek and Liana Yeung; Mrs Deirdre Fu-Tcheng; Ms Veronica Lam and many more.

“Magical Kingdom” was the sixth annual Nutcracker Christmas Benefit. Co-Chair Mrs Leigh Tung Chou expressed her gratitude to the sponsors who made this event possible, “My sincere thanks go to Platinum Sponsors LANCÔME and Shangri-La Hotels & Resorts; Gold Sponsors Perrier-Jouët and Van Cleef & Arpels; as well as all other sponsors, partners and table patrons.”

The highlight of the event was a children’s performance featuring 38 committee members’ children. Their costumes were brand new mini-versions of those from The Nutcracker. Co-Chair Mrs Anne Wang Liu thanked The Hong Kong Ballet team, “I especially want to thank Joseph Morrissey, Director of Artistic Planning & Touring; Vency Kwok, Education & Community Outreach Manager and Jin Yao, Principal Dancer for creating this magnificent mini performance. The children performers had a great time sharing the stage with Senior Ballet Master Liang Jing and Corps de Ballet member Yuh Egami; while Principal Dancers, Liu Yu-yao and Wei Wei, performed an excerpt from the Grand Pas de Deux for us.”

Co-Chair Mrs Sharie Ross Tse added, “The Hong Kong Ballet strives to nurture local talents and this was demonstrated beautifully at the Benefit as two of the Company’s Hong Kong born Apprentices, Irene Kam and Hui Ka Chun, also took part in the performance, bringing Christmas fun to the audiences with an excerpt of Chinese Dance, choreographed especially for the event by Yuh Egami and Ricky Hu.”

The Benefit featured two key fundraising activities. This year’s silent auction featured over 90 fantastic lots, including exciting experiences, fine dining and fabulous getaways; while the live auction featured three priceless lots – a private ballet lesson led by one of The Hong Kong Ballet’s dancers, a guaranteed place for a child’s participation in one of the Company’s productions, and a tailor-made children’s costume from The Nutcracker and The Sleeping Beauty. The event also included a festive brunch, a lucky draw, and entertainment including arts & crafts workshops, an instant photo booth, balloon twisting, face painting, as well as a photo opportunity with Santa Claus!

The Hong Kong Ballet Guild was established in April 2008 by a group of Hong Kong’s most avid ballet enthusiasts. The objective of the Guild is to promote the work of The Hong Kong Ballet and elevate the Company’s public profile, as well as raising the awareness of the art of ballet within the community, especially among the younger generation and families.

The Nutcracker Christmas Benefit 2014
Shangri-La Hotels & Resorts

Van Cleef & Arpels

LOFT Niseko
The Peninsula Hotels
Skechers Hong Kong Limited

Kids’ Gallery
Punch Detox
Salvatore Ferragamo
Sun Hung Kai Financial Limited

Prestique Limited

Hong Kong Tatler

Leigh Tung Chou‧Anne Wang Liu‧Sharie Ross Tse

Audry Ai-Morrow‧Janice Chan-Choy‧Chen Woo Yuk Lynn‧Ada Wang Cheng‧Anastasia Chunilal‧Malti Dialdas‧Christina Gaw Donohugh‧Reyna Harilela‧Mary Tong Ho‧Jaime Ho Ku‧Michele Lai‧Evan Lau-Sarkis‧Cathy Lee‧Jennifer Lee‧Peggy Lee‧Davina Sin Luk‧Esther Ma‧Fiona Marin‧Vikki Tsang Ong‧Ruri Pao‧Lily Ahn Riddick‧Tyhoa Kobler Sitabkhan‧Jacqueline Sun‧Deirdre Fu Tcheng‧Teresa Teague‧Heidi Yang Ven‧Wendy Chiang Wai‧Katherine Koo Wong‧Kay Tsang Wong‧Connie Wei Yang‧Daphne King Yao‧Liana Yung Yeung

About Hong Kong Ballet

One of the premier classical ballet companies in Asia, The Hong Kong Ballet is becoming internationally recognised as a world-class institution that represents Hong Kong’s unique character. Since 1979 the Company has evolved into a vibrant performing arts organisation with accomplished dancers and a strong repertoire composed of a range of stunning, technically challenging productions, led by its Artistic Director Madeleine Onne. 

For further information, please contact:
Tiphanie Chan

Senior Marketing Manager
T: 2105 9716
M: 9197 1223
[email protected]


[Press Ctrl and click on the photo to download full image]

Mrs Anne Wang Liu, Mrs Daisy Ho, Mrs Leigh Tung Chou and Mrs Sharie Ross Tse.


First row from the left: Mrs Vikki Tsang Ong; Mrs Heidi Yang Ven; Mrs Wendy Chiang Wai; Mrs Jaime Ho Ku; Mrs Deirdre Fu Tcheng; Mrs Christina Gaw Donohugh; Mrs Daphne King Yao; Ms Esther Ma; Mrs Michele Lai; Mrs Ruri Pao; Mrs Kay Tsang Wong; Second row from the left: Mrs Liana Yung Yeung; Mrs Katherine Koo Wong; Mrs Jennifer Lee; Mrs Evan Lau-Sarkis; Mrs Peggy Lee; Mrs Jacqueline Sun; Mrs Malti Dialdas; Mrs Audry Ai-Morrow; Mrs Sharie Ross Tse; Mrs Anne Wang Liu; Mrs Leigh Tung Chou; Mrs Mira Yeh; Mrs Daisy Ho; Mrs Janice Chan-Choy; Mrs Mary Tong Ho; Mrs Chen Woo Yuk Lynn; Mrs Anastasia Chunilal; Mrs Lily Ahn Riddick; Mrs Fiona Marin; Mrs Teresa Teague; Mrs Davina Sin Luk; and Mrs Connie Wei Yang.


Mrs Christina Gaw Donohugh; Mrs Deirdre Fu Tcheng; Mrs Anne Wang Liu, Mrs Daisy Ho, Mrs Leigh Tung Chou; Mrs Sharie Ross Tse; Mrs Janice Chan-Choy and Mrs Daphne King Yao.


First row from the left: Mrs Leigh Tung Chou; Mrs Daisy Ho; Mrs Anne Wang Liu; Second row from the left: Mrs Christina Gaw Donohugh; Mrs Sharie Ross Tse; Mrs Deirdre Fu Tcheng; Mrs Janice Chan-Choy; Ms Esther Ma; Mrs Liana Yung Yeung and Mrs Daphne King Yao.


You may also like